Week 10: Peer Review Video Presentations – WIP & Reflection


Work in Progress


Figure 1 Murray, J. (2020) WIP An Authentic Lie Showreel GIF

As I’ve made significant changes to my project this past week, by adding the narrative of post-covid images. I thought I would upload them to my CRJ as a whole series in the form of a showreel gif to give a sense of an idea to the sequence of my project(the quality/colour availability is obviously better on the stills).

The aesthetical visual approach to my current Work in Progress has developed in directions previously unplanned due to the arrival of the restrictions of the Coronavirus outbreak. I felt that some images were becoming repetitive, so I chose to embrace the situation and develop my images to comment on the ongoing situation and how people are or even are not, adapting themselves.

Due to the now widespread pandemic the message and context behind my work has changed, in that the work not only comments on how the smart phone has created the concept of the authentic lie, but also on how currently, the only way we can explore and visit locations is virtually via the internet or traditional media such as books.


Reflections on Feedback


I found the feedback I received from my peers to my video presentation insightful, particularly regarding presenting my work, and cultural references. Otherwise the feedback has been useful and largely reinforces that my practice is achieving my intended outcomes, contextualisation and visual references.

Figure 2 Falmouth Flexible Forums (2020) Video Presentation Feedback

So how will I develop my Critical Review from this? From the feedback given, in particular the mention from a peer of the artist Signe Pierce, it has become clear to me that when it comes to developing my Critical Review of Practice that I will add and change the practitioners I discuss to those more closely tied to social commentary around the topic of the internet and social media, and in the webinar it was advised that I should expand somewhat on the topic of the uncanny, which incidentally was already in my thoughts as I’m currently reading Digital Uncanny (2019), however I have yet to decide which part I wish to reference to. Overall the most important feedback I received was being reminded to make sure everything I am referencing to ties back into my practice.

References

Figures

Figure 1 Murray, J. (2020) WIP An Authentic Lie Showreel GIF

Figure 2 Falmouth Flexible Forums (2020) Video Presentation Feedback

Bibliography

Ravetto-Biagioli, K. (2019) Digital Uncanny. New York; Oxford University Press.

Ravetto-Biagioli, K. (2016) [in] Screen 57:1 (Spring 2016) The digital uncanny and ghost effects. [Online] Available from: https://doi.org/10.1093/screen/hjw002 or https://www.academia.edu/24324567/Digital_Uncanny_and_Ghost_Effects [Accessed 11/03/2020]

Leave a comment