Week 12: Reflection

Figure 1 Murray, J. (2020) A Self Portrait

This week we were asked to post a self-portrait which best represents the past 12 weeks for you, for me this module has largely revolved around self-portraiture, ultimately leading to representing myself in my work as a ‘mask’ with a mannequin, however this process hasn’t been peaceful and has been chaotic in that this method is not within my comfort zone, and subsequently this meant it took more time trying to finding the voice for my project than I am used to, and a lot of experimentation.

On reflection this module has really pushed my practice out of my comfort zone in terms of subject, but also in terms of experimentation and techniques I haven’t tried before. Some were unsuccessful, but were still a valid learning experience in that I know what not to do, due to trialling them (e.g. think about sound when using the record mode on the camera!)

Figure 2 Murray, J. (2020) e-maGen Print edition

I’ve also produced a digital print version of e-maGen (Figure 2), however my submission for my work in progress will be my website as I feel it’s the most tactile choice in showcasing a temporal, ephemeral piece through a fast-paced timed slideshow that makes commentary on the transient nature of internet identities, as it forces the viewer to sit through and watch, having no control on the order or the length of time they view each image, and if they wish to view an image longer are forced to sit through an uncanny cycle back to the image.

Figure 3 G.F Smith (2020) Collection Book

This module has made me think a lot about the surfaces I use when it comes to displaying my work, in Week 7’s activity to produce a book dummy, I mentioned that I could potentially use transparencies such as acetate within my book for the accompaning images. I’ve since had the luck of getting ahold of a G.F Smith Collection Book, (a thick tome!) which has been greatly insightful in regards to options in terms gsm weights, texture, colour, and most interesting the selection of transclear and translucent paper stock. The transclear range is available in 6 different weights of gsm, with the thinnest feeling most like tracing paper and the thickest a matt non-glossy version that is closest to acetate, on reflection this kind of stock would probably work better than acetate, as you can get a weight which is closer to paper stock weights one would tend to use with a photobook. Another option would be Cromatico Digital which again offers translucent paper stock, however I believe the weights available have less range available as the collection book only lists 3 weights. Although I’ve largely focused in this post on translucent paper stock, flicking through the collection book has given me a lot to think about in overall choice, and has made me realise a photobook does not necessarily have to be restricted to being a pale matt smooth white.

Figure 4 Murray, J. (2020) G.F. Smith Collection Book

References

Figures

Figure 1 Murray, J. (2020) A Self Portrait

Figure 2 Murray, J. (2020) e-maGen Print edition. [Online] Available from: https://issuu.com/jasmphoto/docs/emagenforissuu [Accessed 14/08/2020]

Figure 3 G.F Smith (2020) Collection Book. [Online] Available from: https://www.gfsmith.com/the-collection-2020 [Accessed 15/08/2020]

Figure 4 Murray, J. (2020) G.F. Smith Collection Book.

Leave a comment