Week 10: Production 2


Hologram Projection Test


Figure 1 Murray, J. (August 2020) Hologram Pepper’s Ghost Test

In Week 9 I discussed hologram projections using a DIY pyramid for your smartphone and mentioned I could at least try a floating projection for this module as seen in Figure 1, I have created a basic projection taking inspiration from a youtube video which teaches individuals how to mirror themselves in powerpoint, whilst I made Figure 1 using Photoshop I did use a similar method in getting the images to mirror in a quadrant. Figure 1 was then displayed on my tablet screen, placing the pyramid shape in the center of the four images to create a projection, the results visible in Figure 2 & Figure 3, of a floating ethereal head.

Figure 2 Murray, J. (August 2020) Hologram Pepper’s Ghost Video Test (password: Falmouth703)

When taking the test video (Figure 2, the password is Falmouth703) I forgot my new camera records sound, so fortunately or unfortunately I ended up with background sound from the TV, of a programme called The Deceived (Channel 5, UK), ironically it was a part of the show that referenced to spectres, ghosts and demons and bizarrely the movement of my holograms seemed to tie with the sound creating an arguably disturbing and uncanny effect, that I probably wouldn’t have been able to achieve if I had tried to on purpose. This accidental recording of sound has made me question how I might incorporate the use of sound in the future to my practice, possibly creating video outcomes, instead of GIFs which would remove the current limitations of sticking to a narrow range of colour palette, and potentially assisting the narrative of my intentions without such heavy reliance on text.

Figure 3 Murray, J. (August 2020) Hologram Pepper’s Ghost Test II

Ultimately in regards to both Figures 2 & 3, I was looking at hologram projection being a potential vehicle for display methods, and whilst I was impressed by what the little pyramid achieved in regards to projection, when it comes to an actual installation piece it may be advisable if I made a more sturdy and large pyramid, potentially using resin, to allow larger projections but also the option of having the screen facing downwards so to the visible viewers eye the projection appears to be magically appearing from thin air, highlighting further the intention of physical and virtual reality becoming merged and indistinguishable.

Figure 4 Holocreators GmBH (2018) Youtube: How to make a Hologram.

Lastly I mentioned in Week 9’s Research post, about actual holograms, and that the process to achieve seems complicated from what I have read, I decided to look into it a little bit further this week as I stumbled upon a youtube video (Figure 4) which broke down the process in under 45 minutes, and I can now say for sure, that it looks like a very complicated process where the variables to produce an decent outcome is very narrow and that I doubt I would be able to produce my own without some kind of help or guidance and even then it’s probably best left to the experts. The video is very detailed though and I definitely have a greater insight now into just how much work goes into making a true holographic image. I also looked into the cost aspect and it’s not cheap to produce, the cheapest option I found was one marketed as more of a science experiment Litiholo whose kits charge an upwards of £60 for 5 exposures.


Project Development: Tweaked Images for WIP


Figure 5 Murray, J. (July 2020) Authentic VSCO Girl from the series ‘e-maGen’

In Week 7 I produced the outcomes in Figure 5, at the time I felt something was missing from the images, and that the inclusion of the meme in my lead image wasn’t as strong as other images in the series, if anything a bit too literal to what a VSCO girl equated to and not necessarily in the ways I was conveying the persona as, as my version of a VSCO girl paid heavy focus to the eco, sea obsessed side of the obsession with marine life, shells and saving the environment over, comfy shoes such as crocs and birkenstocks.

Figure 6 Murray, J. (August 2020) Authentic VSCO Girl from the series ‘e-maGen’

I also felt the image didn’t tie into the series as well as the other images as it had no sense of glitchyness, as whilst it included scanography the shells had come out crystal clear. This led to me going back to the drawing board for the first image, deciding that to fit in with other images the inclusion of simple written text potentially animated in GIF format would better suit the narratives aesthetic (Figure 6, Slide 1), but also layering into my existing image scanned holographic gift wrap which was moved across the scanner to create wave distortions, as seen in Figure 7, which gives a showcase of the layered approach this series has taken.

Figure 7 Murray, J. (August 2020) Screenshot Edit Process (Warning: Contains Fast Paced Flashing GIF animation)

Lastly this week, I attempted to rephotograph my masks with the wigs on, sitting up, however I couldn’t get this to sit correctly so I quickly abandoned my attempts and laid each mask down on a contrasting wig colour, to show what they look like now fully complete with false eyelashes included. I feel these masks look a lot better in person than in studio lighting conditions, possibly using fabric to print the face so it is less choppy or photographic paper may produce more contrasty results that look okay to the cameras eye as much as the human eye in person.

Figure 8 Murray, J. (August 2020) Masks

References

Figures

Figure 1 Murray, J. (August 2020) Hologram Pepper’s Ghost Test

Figure 2 Murray, J. (August 2020) Hologram Pepper’s Ghost Video Test (password: Falmouth703) [Online] Available from: https://vimeo.com/444992823 [Accessed 05/08/2020]

Figure 3 Murray, J. (August 2020) Hologram Pepper’s Ghost Test II

Figure 4 Holocreators GmBH (2018) Youtube: How to make a Hologram. [Online] Available from: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5IszBMYJ5Ks [Accessed 03/08/2020]

Figure 6 Murray, J. (August 2020) Authentic VSCO Girl from the series ‘e-maGen’

Figure 7 Murray, J. (August 2020) Screenshot Edit Process (Warning: Contains Fast Paced Flashing GIF animation)

Figure 8 Murray, J. (August 2020) Masks

Bibliography

BuzzingFish (2019) Youtube: How to Make 3D Hologram Projector with Resin (Super Clear) – Resin DIY. [Online] Available from: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qNceVquu02o [Accessed 03/08/2020]

Holocreators GmBH (2018) Youtube: How to make a Hologram. [Online] Available from: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5IszBMYJ5Ks [Accessed 03/08/2020]

Litiholo (2019-) Hologram Kit. [Online] Available from: https://www.litiholo.com/hologram-kits.html [Accessed 05/08/2020]

PowerPoint Spice (2016) Youtube: How to Make a 3D Hologram Video of Yourself… in PowerPoint! [Online] Available from: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BSGDJeI2vEU [Accessed 03/08/2020]

One thought on “Week 10: Production 2

Leave a comment